I Live With a Thief

My older sister always steals my stuff, but when I went into her room the other day to look for my fav hoodie, I noticed she had a bunch of other people’s stuff too like my mom’s earrings, a ton of money that can’t be hers, and three Ipods. I tried talking to her about it but she got so pissed and said if I tell our parents that she’ll tell them how I’ve been going to parties when I say I’m going to friends’ houses. What should I do?

-Silent Sister

Dear Silent Sister,

You need to tell your parents. I understand that you don’t want to get in trouble for what you’ve done, but it sounds like she’s been stealing repeatedly and may even have a more serious problem such as kleptomania. Your parents need to know what’s going so that they can address the issue. Telling them might prevent something worse from happening like your sister getting trouble at school or with the police. If you stay silent because you’re afraid of repercussions for your own actions, you might regret not telling. The best thing to do is sit down with you parents and tell them everything. Be totally honest, and while you’re at it, you might as well tell them about the parties so that they’re hearing it straight from you. This will minimize the drama and get the situation taken care of as quickly as possible.

 

2 thoughts on “I Live With a Thief

What do YOU think?

