The Thigh Gap: An Awful Trend Fueling Teen Eating Disorders

While this article is directed at parents/teachers, I definitely feel this sad teen trend needs to be addressed and discussed amongst adolescents. How have image issues come to this?

Valerie Grison Blog

Thigh Gap 2014.07.30The Thigh Gap: What is it? A thigh gap is a clear space or gap between the thighs. The thighs are no longer touching each other when the feet and knees are together.

Origin of the phenomenon: the 2012 Victoria’s Secret fashion show.

For many teens, the thigh gap symbolizes the ideal body. Some teenage girls go as far as thinking that the bigger the gap, the more beautiful the girl. Let’s be clear: this is completely unnatural for the majority of women.

This trend definitely won’t help teenagers to feel better about their bodies: 80% of girls dislike their body by the time they are 17!

Interestingly enough, the girls are not motivated by being more attractive to boys (who apparently don’t notice). Instead it’s a girls’ thing that enhances social status and supposedly brings popularity.

Vonda Wright, a Pittsburgh-based orthopedic surgeon and fitness expert, says the…

View original post 294 more words

3 thoughts on “The Thigh Gap: An Awful Trend Fueling Teen Eating Disorders

  1. I’m a teenager and I never heard of this trend. But you are correct. Teenagers around 16 and 17 do hate their body. I’m 16 and sometimes I have those moments where I wish I can change something about my body or wish I was smaller because I feel fat but now I’ve learned to love myself for who I am.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment. I think we are all a work in progress, especially when it comes to how we feel about our bodies. I’m glad you’ve been able to accept and appreciate yourself. 🙂

      Like

What do YOU think?

